Crying Makes You Weak. Or That’s What I’ve Been Told.

Standard

“Stop crying. It makes you weak. It’s hideous.”

I don’t know if he was talking about the crying or weakness that was hideous. As I write (type?) this, I’m drying my eyes myself, and I can assure you it’s  not the prettiest thing I’ve ever seen. I had a really bad day that included (but was not limited to) getting bird shit splattered all over my phone and backpack, having a helmet fall off my locker and hit me on the head, feeling an impending sense of doom due to upcoming finals and exams, and taking BS from a couple of my teachers. (No, not you Donnie 🙂 ) There’s thirty two days of school left. Whether or not I survive is a coin toss, really, at this point. And so, here I am, drying my eyes, listening to Matt Nathanson between my parent’s arguments over URLs and the yapping of that cursed dog that lives somewhere nearby.

To get to the bottom of this can of worms, we need to start at the top: why do we even cry? I’m no expert, but I think I’ve got this one figured out, actually. I think we cry mostly because we are frustrated. That makes the most sense to me. I’m sure we cry for a variety of reasons, but frustration seems like a nice umbrella to shelter them from the water works. You know, crying is really just releasing sodium, hydrogen, and oxygen through tear ducts. So what’s the big fuss?

Crying has really always been seen as a weakness, and we all know weaknesses are ugly. Hideous, sorry, hideous. Especially with men. Masculinity has always been seen as being removed, fearless, and physically and mentally strong. You’d never see Hercules shed a tear or King Arthur bat an eye in the face of danger. But women, on the other hand, are always screwing things up, getting into trouble and are just dying for someone to come save them. Have you noticed that? There’s really only one major super heroin, and that’s Wonder Woman. How come she has to wear skimpy leotards and push her breasts into the line of fire while all the other guys get capes and tights? (Yes, there’s other female super heroes, but they’re all either side kicks or were thrown in for some estrogen.) But sexism and women in the media is a whole separate can of worms that I just can’t do right now. Speaking of superheroes and tear ducts, even Batman’s cried a couple times. But more of why Batman is the best later. (like, tomorrow)

Sometimes I feel like we as a society are becoming too sensitive. We try too hard to please the offended minority while the majority suffers because of it. Take crying. Crying shows sensitivity, emotion. If a woman cries, it’s really not that big of a deal. If a man cries, everyone holds their breath. When a woman cries, we dismiss it as hormonal (which isn’t always wrong) and silly. Here, have a tissue, sweet heart. When a man cries, we see him as a sensitive young boy who’ll grow out of it. Pull it together, man! But this is ridiculous! We can’t assume that this will always be the case. We cry for hundreds of reasons, so why can’t we just accept it as emotion and move on? Men should be allowed to cry and not have his pride hurt! Sure, there are some cases of public sobbing that could potentially embarrass anyone, but crying in general shouldn’t be out lawed. I don’t know why people are so opposed to crying. It’s really not that big of a deal. You shed a few tears, listen to a few sad songs, then pick yourself up. It’s really nothing to be ashamed of. Final thoughts: crying shouldn’t be seen as weakness, but a process of gaining strength. When you build muscle, you work out and tear the tissue. Then you rest and it grows back stronger. Maybe if we stop making a big deal about using our tear ducts, then we could stop this whole crying = sensitivity = stereotype thing. Whatever. Maybe if we could stop making a big deal about women making an honest living then they could actually make an honest living without the support of a man. Whatever.

Don’t forget the glitter- iamtheseventies.

 

Paste opinion here

