The Internet: Uglifyed

Standard

“I think slow internet is really ugly.”

Wow. And to think I started out so well. Welcome to the 21st Century, where, above all, internet connection is valued. Great.

I think the fact that we feel entitled to a good, fast internet comes from being spoon fed instant gratification from birth. I know that when I am at home trying to do my blog posts and my computer drops the internet, I become quite frustrated. But it’s homework. I’m just trying to be a good student! All of my grades can be found online. All of my assignments are posted online. I get entertainment, knowledge, and progress from the internet. This is all very new. But is it all very good? The internet has opened the door to countless opportunities, and with great power comes great responsibility. Are we ready for it?

My generation, my people, are going to have to answer this question and many more other, harder to answer ones, and that’s where the beauty is. For every person I meet that makes me cringe when I think about the future, I meet three that make me say ‘bring it on’. For every person posting pictures of themselves in bikini’s on Instagram, there’s two others posting relevant content that’s changing the world. We’ll be ok. Even if it doesn’t seem like we will. As far as the internet, we’re getting there. Yeah, we’re still fed instant gratification, but we’re also starting to use our power for good rather than ‘meh’.

Don’t forget the glitter- iamtheseventies.

Paste opinion here

